View All Stories View All Stories (Latest Issue)


View All News


Some 350 alumni and friends of Boston University gathered at the New York Public Library on October 26 to celebrate those people who are helping to make BU’s Choose to Be Great campaign a resounding success.

Hosted by trustee Richard D. Cohen (CGS’67, Questrom’69), the evening began with cocktails in Astor Hall, and continued downstairs in the Celeste Bartos Forum. After an elegant dinner, gala emcee and actor Kim Raver (CGS’87, CFA’91) kicked off the evening’s program, which featured a “campaign A to Z” theme.

Adil Najam, dean of the Pardee School, recognizes Frederick S. Pardee (Questrom’54,’54, Hon.’06).

Adil Najam, dean of the Pardee School, recognizes Frederick S. Pardee (Questrom’54,’54, Hon.’06).

Speakers included Robert A. Brown, president of BU, Kenneth J. Feld (Questrom’70), Board of Trustees and campaign chair, Robert A. Knox (CAS’74, Questrom’75, Hon.’17), former board chair, Karen Antman, School of Medicine dean and Medical Campus provost, Adil Najam, dean of the Pardee School, and Kenneth Elmore (SED’87), associate provost and dean of students.

The highlight of the evening was the induction of seven members into the William Fairfield Warren Society, which honors those who have given $1 million or more to BU. Warren Society chair Richard C. Shipley (Questrom’68,’72) presided over the ceremony.

The festivities closed with a spirited performance by vocalist and harmonica player James Montgomery (DGE’69, CAS’71) and his band.

loading slideshow...

  • Boston University NYC Gala 2017

    Karen Antman, MED dean and Medical Campus provost (center), with Warren Society inductees (from left) Mary Olsson and Carl Olsson (MED’63), Jane Rogers Clark, and Jonathan P. Gertler (Questrom’99).

  • Boston University NYC Gala Meeting Photo: ©Jennifer Pottheiser

    Trustee emeritus and William Fairfield Warren Society chair Richard C. Shipley (Questrom’68,’72), with Feyza Altindag Shipley.

  • Warren Society inductee and trustee Andrew Lack (CFA’68), with BU President Robert A. Brown.

  • Trustee Andrea L. Taylor (COM’68) (from left), with William Fairfield Warren Society inductee Luo Yan (CFA’90) and gala emcee Kim Raver (CGS’87, CFA’91).

  • Trustee Richard D. Cohen (CGS'67, Questrom'69), the gala’s chair and host, with trustee emerita Luci Baines Johnson.