

## **Terriers Take the Top Prize**

Men's ice hockey beats Miami 4-3 in NCAA victory

In the final minute of regulation play in the 2009 NCAA hockey championship, BU fans collectively held their breath. The Terriers were trailing Miami (Ohio) University 3-1, and Coach Jack Parker (SMG'68, Hon.'97) had pulled the door-die switch – he took goalie Kieran Millan (CAS'12) off the ice and sent six attackers in.

web extra Watch slide shows and videos from the hockey team's road to the championship at www.bu.edu/bostonia.

Then, with fifty-nine seconds left, Zach Cohen (CAS'10) scored on a lowangle shot. Next, with seventeen seconds to go, cocaptain Matt Gilroy (MET'09) sent the puck to Nick Bonino (CAS'11), who fired the game-tying shot, sending fans into a frenzy and the championship contest into sudden death. Minutes later, a shot by Colby Cohen (CAS'11) deflected off Miami defenseman Kevin Roeder and slipped into the Miami goal, and the Boston University men's hockey team became the national champions for the first time since 1995.

"It's the greatest comeback I've ever been involved in," Parker said afterwards.

The team finished the season with a school-recordsetting thirty-five victories, a Hobey Baker Award for Gilroy, National Hockey
League contracts for Gilroy,
Colin Wilson (CAS'11), and
John McCarthy (CAS'09) —
and, in the tradition of
great Boston sports teams,
a rolling rally aboard
Duck Tour vehicles from
Kenmore Square to Marsh
Plaza, where Terrier fans
welcomed their national
champions home for a campus celebration.

THE TERRIERS overcame a 3-1 deficit in the final minute to beat Miami University in overtime for the national championship. A jubilant Boston University welcomed the team home with a rolling rally along Commonwealth Avenue.



