View All Stories


View All News


In a special ceremony tomorrow evening, six former Terriers, spanning three decades and five sports, will be inducted into the Boston University Athletic Hall of Fame. The occasion marks the 50th induction ceremony honoring former BU athletes being recognized for their contributions on and off the field during their BU careers.

Headlining the 2014 class is John Curry (CAS’07), one of the greatest goaltenders in the history of BU’s storied ice hockey program. After joining the team as a recruited walk-on, Curry proceeded to set new goalkeeping records while leading the Terriers to three Beanpot titles and a Hockey East championship. He was named Hockey East Player of the Year in 2007.

“Before I came to BU, I played hockey, but I didn’t truly understand what it was about,” says Curry. “During my time at school I learned so much about the sport and about being part of a team, and that really molded me into the person I am today.”

Currently a member of the American Hockey League’s Iowa Wild, Curry signed a free-agent deal with the Pittsburgh Penguins after graduating from BU. He spent four years with the Penguins organization before joining the Iowa Wild. Curry says he’s looking forward to returning to campus for tomorrow’s ceremony. “It’s been too long since I’ve been back to Boston and seen all my old coaches and teammates. I owe so much to the BU hockey program, and it’s difficult to articulate what it means to receive this kind of honor,” he says. “It’s something that I know I couldn’t have done without help from so many people. It’s just very humbling.”

Two standout members of BU’s disbanded football program will also be inducted as part of this year’s class. Bob Speight (SED’83) was the only Atlantic 10 Conference player ever named a First Team All-Star all four seasons. The offensive tackle graduated with three All-America awards, despite several shoulder injuries. Jay Hillman (MET’94), the only running back to lead the Terriers in rushing all four seasons, earned BU’s Mickey Cochrane Award as the top male athlete in 1992. Hillman left BU after the 1992 season to pursue a professional career in the World League and the National Football League before completing his degree in 1994.

With 1,971 career points, Katie Terhune (COM’04) is BU women’s basketball’s all-time leading scorer. Photo courtesy of BU Athletics

Katie Terhune (COM’04) will enter the Hall of Fame as the BU women’s basketball all-time leading scorer. During the 2003 season, she led the team to the program’s sole America East title (and was the only women’s basketball Terrier to be named America East MVP) and is one of two players whose jersey number has been retired. She received the Mildred Barnes Award, given each year to the BU’s top female student-athlete, at the end of junior year.

Alyssa Trudel (CAS’05) made history in 2005 when she led the women’s lacrosse Terriers to their first NCAA tournament victory. That season, she captained the team to an 18-2 overall record, a program tie for most wins. She was named America East Player of the Year in 2003.

This year’s youngest inductee is Pam Spuehler (CAS’08), whose outstanding field hockey career helped the Terriers claim three straight conference titles. A three-time All-American, Spuehler was an assistant coach after graduating, then went on to play professionally in Australia and Germany, and was a member of the 2011 US National Team.

Despite her accomplishments, Spuehler says, she was shocked to hear she had made the Hall of Fame during her first year of eligibility. “When I made the cut along with these amazing athletes, I was absolutely blown away,” she says. “It’s given me the opportunity to reflect on what my time at BU meant to me, and I’ve come to realize that it changed my life forever.”

The six honorees will receive a Hall of Fame signature red jacket at the ceremony, and each is expected to speak about his or her time at BU. They join Terrier greats such as BU football star and Red Sox first baseman Harry Agganis (SED’54), longtime men’s head hockey coach Jack Parker (SMG’68, Hon.’97), and Mike Eruzione (SED’77), captain of the 1980 “Miracle on Ice” Olympic gold medal US hockey team.

“Our 50th Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be a special event, and this is certainly a special class that highlights the best of our best here at BU,” says Michael Lynch, an assistant vice president and director of athletics. “I had the privilege of watching four of these amazing athletes and the other two are football greats whose spots in our hall are long overdue.”

This year’s Aldo Donelli Leadership Award will be given to a current senior student-athlete who has shown outstanding leadership on and off the field, and the William French Memorial Award will go to a current or former BU coach or graduate who has distinguished himself or herself in the coaching profession in the past year. This year’s Roger Washburn Award—given to a BU alum who has demonstrated continuous support of Terriers athletics—and the Murray Kramer Memorial Award—going to a person or organization to honor outstanding media coverage or publicity of intercollegiate sports—will be presented as well.

The Boston University Hall of Fame induction ceremony is tomorrow, Saturday, May 31, at 5:30 p.m. in the Metcalf Trustees Ballroom. Attendance is by invitation only.