APC’s five major programs offer particularly unique insights into contemporary trends and developments in Africa:

  1. The African President-in-Residence Program is a Boston University-based residency program for former democratically elected African heads of state. It provides access to former leaders by allowing them a residency of up to two years at APC. During his/her tenure, the resident speaks at various venues throughout the United States, focusing on issues of political and economic development as they relate to Africa.
  2. The Public Papers/Private Conversations Project is an oral and documentary history project focusing on current trends and development in Africa. It provides APC with an opportunity to chronicle the present period of dynamic change in Africa through the “eyes of the architects” of those changes – past and present heads of state and public and private sector leaders in Africa.
  3. The African Leaders State of Africa Report is an annual report presenting the perspectives of select African heads of state relative to their respective countries and regions. The Report not only catalogues the “vision” and strategies of contemporary African heads of state for future generations of scholars, but it enables the dissemination of the “African point of view” to those presently involved in setting policy and shaping opinions about Africa.
  4. The African Presidential Roundtable is a gathering of former African heads of state, policy makers, and public sector leaders. Discussants come together to deliberate on issues of growth and development as they pertain to the continent.
  5. The APC American-African Universities Collaborative is a partnership between APC, HBCUs, and African Universities that is designed to provide students at the partnering institution with access to the full range of APC programs. Partnering institutions are: Boston University (MA); Medgar Evers College (NY); North Carolina A&T University (NC); Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia; Elizabeth City State University in Elizabeth City, North Carolina; the University of Ghana Legon in Accra Ghana; the University of Johannesburg and the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa; and the University of Dar es Salaam in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.