Faculty Profiles

Faculty Profiles

Kimberly Arkin

Assistant Professor

E-mail: karkin@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5016

Research area:
National identity, religion, race, personhood, France

Learn more

Thomas Barfield

Professor & Chair

E-mail: barfield@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5028

Research area:
Social anthropology, political economy, anthropology and history, pastoral nomadism. Near East and Central Asia. Afghanistan

Learn more

Kaye Brown

Adjunct Associate Professor and Director of Marketing & Grants

E-mail: kaybrown@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2197

Research area:
Social movements, collective behavior, architectural gerontology

Learn more

Matt Cartmill

Professor

E-mail: cartmill@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-5488

Research area:
Human and primate origins and phylogeny, systematics, cranial morphology, and the functional anatomy and evolution of bipedal and quadrupedal locomotion

Learn more

Joanna Davidson

Assistant Professor

E-mail: jhdavid@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5024

Research area:
Political ecology; rurality and agrarian societies; cultural conceptions of knowledge; critical international studies; anthropological engagements with development theory and practice; social and religious transformation; inter-ethnic relations and ethnic conflict; African Studies.

Learn more

Eva Garrett

Assistant Professor

E-mail: garrette@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5016

Research area:
Sensory Ecology, Olfaction, Vomeronasal Organ, Primate Evolution, Evolutionary Morphology, Primate Paleontology, Genomics, Bioinformatics.

Learn more

Shahla Haeri

Associate Professor

E-mail: shaeri@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2370

Research area:
Social/Cultural anthropology, gender, law, religion. Iran, Middle East, South Asia

Learn more

Robert Hefner

Professor

E-mail: rhefner@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2194

Research area:
Cultural theory, religion and modernity, political theory, political economy, democracy, Islam, Southeast Asia

Learn more

Carolyn Hodges-Simeon

Assistant Professor

E-mail: crhodges@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-0227

Research area: Adaptive developmental plasticity in sex-typical traits, and evolutionary origins of sex/gender differences

Learn more

Cheryl Knott

Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies

E-mail: knott@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7723

Research area:
Orangutan behavior and biology, reproductive physiology of male and female orangutans, conservation

Learn more

Frank Korom

Professor of Religion and Anthropology

E-mail: korom@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-0185

Research area:
Folklore, religion, ritual and performance. South Asia, Caribbean, Tibet

Learn more

Fallou Ngom

Professor of Anthropology and Director of the African Studies Center

E-mail: fngom@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7305

Research area:
Sociolinguistics, Culture & Language Contacts, Islam and Mouridisme (Muridiyya), and West African Ajami literary traditions

Learn more

Christopher Schmitt

Assistant Professor

E-mail: caschmit@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2195

Research area:
Mechanistic and adaptive aspects of developmental variation in primates, behavioral ecology, physiology, morphometrics, and genomics

Learn more

Parker Shipton

Professor

E-mail: shipton@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-8904

Research area:
Social anthropology, economic and symbolic anthropology, kinship, history of theory, development; East and West Africa

Learn more

Merav Shohet

Assistant Professor

E-mail: shohetm@bu.edu
Phone:

Research area:

Psychological, medical, and linguistic anthropology; ethics, morality and subjectivity; narrative and language socialization; illness and recovery; gender, family and kinship; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; food and eating disorders; memory, ritual, and experience; Israel

Learn more

Nancy J. Smith-Hefner

Associate Professor

E-mail: smhefner@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2198

Research area:
Anthropological linguistics, psychological anthropology, gender, Asians in America, anthropology and education; Southeast Asia

Learn more

Robert P. Weller

Professor & Director of Graduate Studies

E-mail: rpweller@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2195

Research area:
Religion and ritual, environment, political change and civil life, anthropological theory, China and Taiwan

Learn more

Merry White

Professor & Associate Chair

E-mail: corky@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7711

Research area:

Urban Japan; food studies; travel and tourism; family, elderly and social change in Japan; the cafe and social spaces in Japanese cities.

Learn more