Faculty Profiles

Faculty Profiles

Kimberly Arkin

Assistant Professor

E-mail: karkin@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5016

Research area:
Identity politics, youth culture, nationalism, citizenship, education, France, Judaism

Learn more

Thomas Barfield

Professor

E-mail: barfield@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5028

Research area:
Social anthropology, political economy, anthropology and history, pastoral nomadism. Near East and Central Asia. Afghanistan

Learn more

Khiara Bridges

Associate Professor of Law and Associate Professor of Anthropology

E-mail: kmb73@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-3110

Research area:
Critical race theory; criminal law

Learn more

Kaye Brown

Adjunct Associate Professor and Director of Marketing & Grants

E-mail: kaybrown@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2197

Research area:
Social movements, collective behavior, architectural gerontology

Learn more

Matt Cartmill

Professor and Chair

E-mail: cartmill@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-5488

Research area:
Human and primate origins and phylogeny, systematics, cranial morphology, and the functional anatomy and evolution of bipedal and quadrupedal locomotion

Learn more

Joanna Davidson

Assistant Professor

E-mail: jhdavid@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5024

Research area:
Political ecology; rurality and agrarian societies; cultural conceptions of knowledge; critical international studies; anthropological engagements with development theory and practice; social and religious transformation; inter-ethnic relations and ethnic conflict; African Studies.

Learn more

Jeremy DeSilva

Assistant Professor

E-mail: jdesilva@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-5026

Research area:
Human evolution, locomotor anatomy

Learn more

Augusto Ferraiuolo

Visiting Researcher and Lecturer

E-mail: augusto@bu.edu
Phone: 617-354-6394

Research area:
Folk Music and Lore, Performances, Religion and Identities, North America, Ireland, Southern Italy

Learn more

Liah Greenfeld

Professor

E-mail: lvg@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-1772

Research area:
Interest One, two

Learn more

Shahla Haeri

Associate Professor

E-mail: shaeri@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2370

Research area:
Social/Cultural anthropology, gender, law, religion. Iran, Middle East, South Asia

Learn more

Robert Hefner

Professor

E-mail: rhefner@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2194

Research area:
Cultural theory, religion and modernity, political theory, political economy, democracy, Islam, Southeast Asia

Learn more

Carolyn Hodges-Simeon

Assistant Professor

E-mail: crhodges@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-0227

Research area: Adaptive developmental plasticity in sex-typical traits, and evolutionary origins of sex/gender differences

Learn more

Cheryl Knott

Associate Professor

E-mail: knott@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7723

Research area:
Orangutan behavior and biology, reproductive physiology of male and female orangutans, conservation

Learn more

Frank Korom

Professor of Religion and Anthropology

E-mail: korom@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-0185

Research area:
Folklore, religion, ritual and performance. South Asia, Caribbean, Tibet

Learn more

Kevin Langergraber

Assistant Professor

E-mail: klangerg@yahoo.com

Research area:
Primate molecular and behavioral ecology

Learn more

Charles Lindholm

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

E-mail: ldhm@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-1775

Research area:
Social anthropology and social studies, social theory, psychological anthropology, idealization and authenticity: Islamic societies, U.S.

Learn more

Christina Luke

Lecturer

E-mail: cluke@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-1500

Research area:
Cultural heritage management, Archaeology of Latin America, the Balkans, and Anatolia and the Eastern Mediterranean

Learn more

John M. Marston

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Anthropology

E-mail: marston@bu.edu
Phone:(617) 353-2357

Research area:
environmental archaeology; sustainability and resilience; agricultural risk management; archaeology of the Mediterranean, Near East, and central Asia; ecological and social theory; plant ecology; archaeological science; writing pedagogy.

Learn more

Lisa Messersmith

Associate Professor

E-mail: ljmesser@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-1449

Research area:
Medical Anthropology

Learn more

Robert E. Murowchick

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Anthropology

E-mail: remurow@bu.edu
Phone: 617-358-8000

Research area:
Archaeology of China and Southeast Asia; history of archaeology; archaeological remote sensing; bronze metallurgy

Learn more

Fallou Ngom

Associate Professor and Director of the African Language Program

E-mail: fngom@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7305

Research area:
Sociolinguistics, Culture & Language Contacts, Islam and Mouridisme (Muridiyya), and West African Ajami literary traditions

Learn more

Augustus Richard Norton

Professor of Anthropology and International Relations

E-mail: arn@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7808

Research area:
Political anthropology, political reform, associational life in Muslim societies, ritual and identity, sectarianism in Islam, the Middle East

Learn more

Parker Shipton

Professor

E-mail: shipton@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-8904

Research area:
Social anthropology, economic and symbolic anthropology, kinship, history of theory, development; East and West Africa

Learn more

Nancy J. Smith-Hefner

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

E-mail: smhefner@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2198

Research area:
Anthropological linguistics, psychological anthropology, gender, Asians in America, anthropology and education; Southeast Asia

Learn more

Robert P. Weller

Professor

E-mail: rpweller@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2195

Research area:
Religion and ritual, environment, political change and civil life, anthropological theory, China and Taiwan

Learn more

Jenny B. White

Professor

E-mail: jbwhite@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7709

Research area:
Sociocultural anthropology, gender, migration, the urban poor, Islam and politics: Turkey, Middle East

Learn more

Merry White

Professorand Director of Undergraduate Studies

E-mail: corky@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-7711

Research area:

Urban Japan; food studies; travel and tourism; family, elderly and social change in Japan; the cafe and social spaces in Japanese cities.

Learn more