Honorary Scarlet Key Society Nominations

Nominations for Honorary Scarlet Key candidates—separate and distinct from the consideration of students into Scarlet Key—are open to faculty, staff, alumni, trustees, and other members of the BU community.

The Honorary Scarlet Key Award is presented to alumni, faculty, staff, trustees, and members of the community-at-large who, during their time at BU, have especially influenced the intellectual and personal development of our students. The Honorary Scarlet Key Award dates back almost as far as the Scarlet Key itself.

Nomination letters should be no longer than one typewritten page and must accompany a copy of the official nomination form. Letters should include examples of the nominee’s outstanding contributions to the extracurricular life of the University’s students.

Past Honorary Scarlet Key awardees include:
Dean of Women Elsbeth Melville
Dean of Sargent College George Makechnie
Dean of Men Staton Curtis
Hockey Coach John “Jack” Kelley
Former BU Presidents Daniel Marsh, Harold Case, John Silber, Jon Westling, and Aram Chobanian Current University President Robert A. Brown