AT BOSTON UNIVERISTY
 
line decor
  
line decor
 
 
 
 

 
 
Current Members of the Tolan Lab

Click for Past Members of the Lab

Click for Photo Album

Sarah Oppelt
oppelts@bu.edu
MCBB Graduate Student
Research

Quinn Ho
quinnho@bu.edu
CM Graduate Student
Research

Clarke Gasper
gasperwc@bu.edu
MCBB Graduate Student

Adam Ross
victross@bu.edu
Graduate Intern Student

Kevin Rhine
rhine@bu.edu
BMB/Biotechnology Graduate Student

Thomas McTigue
tvmiv@bu.edu
BMB/Biotechnology Graduate Student

Manasa Prahlad
manasaprhld@bu.edu
RISE Student

Prachi Sinha
bookworm0@bu.edu
RISE Student

   

back to top

Previous Members of the Tolan Laboratory

Visiting Scientists        
Name
 
Years at BU
 
Position
e-mail
   
Sarah Cosgriff
1986-88
     
Luc Berthiaume
1987
  Prof-Univ Alberta Luc.Berthiaume@ualberta.ca    
Dr. Marita Sheridan
1988-90
  Prof-RICollege msheridan@ric.edu    
Sharon Doyle
1990-1993
  Senior Pharmaceutical Rep GlaxoSmithKline  
Dr. Andrew Grant
1991
  Prof-Univ Sherbrooke, Canada  
Dr. Guylaine Talbot
1992
  Prof-Univ Sherbrooke, Canada  
Bama Dayanandan
1993-1999
  RA-McGill, Canada  
Dr. Andrew Mazurkie
1999-2000
  Principal Scientist at CrystalClear Researcht    
Dr. Joseph Ho
2004-2005
  Post-doc, Albert Einstein College of Medicine Professor, China    
Dr. Alnoor Priani
2006-2007
     
Laura Serio
2009-2011
  Postdoctoral, University of Naples, Italy serio@ceinge.unina.it  

Post-Doctoral Associates

Name
Years at BU
Position after BU
Current Position
e-mail
Dr. Kay Choi
1998-2001
Postdoc-Purdue
Prof-UTex Galveston
choi21@new-mexico.bio.purdue.edu
Dr. Tracy Arakaki
2001-2004

Scientist, Medical Structural Genomics of
Pathogenic Protozoa, Seattle WA

Dr. Wanming Zhang
2006-2008
Scientist, Synta Pharmaceuticals,
Lexington MA
Scientist-Bayer CA
wanming.zhang1@gmail.com

Ph.D. Students

Name
Degree
Year of graduation
Position after BU
Other positions
Current Position
e-mail
Carolyn Dazzo (Gouche) PhD-Biology
1990
Postdoc-Yale Prof-Fairfield Univ Scientific Rep-Rad New England carolyn_gouchoe@bio-rad.com
Marcia Berman-Podlisny PhD-Biology
1992
Postdoc-HMS Instructor-HMS mpodlisny@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Rachel Meighan-Mantha PhD-Biology
1993
Postdoc-Georgetown   Drug Specialist-Citeline rechel.meighan-mantha@citeline.com
Bai-Lin Wu PhD-Biology
1993
Postdoc-HMS Instructor-HMS Bai-Lin.Wu@TCH.Harvard.edu
Cydney Brooks PhD-Biology
1994
Postdoc-HMS* Scientist-Adipogenix Chief Scientist-Citeline cydney.brooks@citeline.com
Aaron Morris  PhD-Biology
1995
Postdoc-UCSD* Sr. Research Investigator, Sanofi-Aventis Aaron.Morris@sanofi-aventis.com
Peter Beernink PhD-Biology
1995
Postdoc-UCB Senior Biomedical Scientist, Lawerence Livemore National Laboratory Associate Staff Scientist, Children's Hospital Oakland Research Institute pbeernink@chori.org
John Mickle PhD-Biology
1996
Postdoc-Hopkins Prof-Johns Hopkins jmickle@jhmi.edu
Matthew A. Coleman PhD-MCBB
1997
Postdoc-LLNL-CA Senior Biomedical Scientist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory coleman16@llnl.gov
Tanya Berardini PhD-Biology
1998
Postdoc-Penn* Scientist-Carnegie Institute, Stanford CA tberardi@acoma.stanford.edu
Vincent Funari PhD-MCBB
2002
Postdoc-Stanford Prof-CedarSiani FunariV@cshs.org
Chris Hopkins PhD-MCBB
2003
Postdoc-Utah* hopkins@biology.utah.edu
Ali Malay PhD-Biology
2004
Postdoc-Riken-Japan malay@gsc.riken.go.jp
Dmitriy Leyfer PhD-Bioinformatics
2005
Scientist-GeneNetworkSciences Senior Scientist-Pfizer Dmitriy.Leyfer@pfizer.com
John Pezza PhD-MCBB
2006
Postdoc-Brown* Scientist-New England BioLabs John_Pezza@brown.edu
Erin Coffee PhD-MCBB
2010
Postdoc-Tufts* Postdoc-HMS-Mass General* erin@bu.edu
Jack Stopa PhD-MCBB
2012
Postdoc-HMS-Beth Israel jstopa@bu.edu
Carolyn Ritterson Lew PhD-MCBB
2012
Postdoc-Univ. Colorado* critters@bu.edu
      *Awarded Post-Doctoral Fellowship    


MA Students

Name Degree
Year of graduation
Position after BU
Rebecca Hussey MA-Biology
1989
Tech-DanaFarber
Nicolas Midis MA-Biology
1990
Medical School-Virginia Med Col
J. Paul Cowley MA-Biology
1993
Joanne Woodward MA-Biology
1991
Nurse
Faith Barnard MA-Biology
1993
Tech-Imunogen
Audrey Halpern MA-Biology
1993
Medical School-Universit of Pittsburgh
Martha Abbruzzese MA-Biology
1998
Editor-Harvard
Chica Mori MA-MCBB
2001
Tech-HMS
David Unger MA-MCBB
2001
Owner & Founder, Bulldog Bio
Tom Maher MA-Biology
2004
Tech-BUMC
Johanna Friedle MA-MCBB
2005
sales


Research Assistants

Name Position after BU e-mail
Konstantin Voevodski Graduate School-BU kvodski@bu
Sheri Procious Tech-Genzyme; VetSch-Tufts sheriprocious@hotmail.com
Genna Helfrich Graduate Biology 2010 ghelfric@bu.edu
Victoria Tolan Graduate Graphic Design, Seton Hall University 2012 vatolan@gmail.com


Undergraduate Students

Name
Degree
Year of graduation
Position after BU
Other positions
Current Position e-mail
Mary Tulipani (Cassoni)
BA Biology
1988
Tech-USC Vice President-Invitrogen Professor-Palomar College mcassoni@palomar.edu 
Joyce Soprano
BA Biology
1989
Medical School-Harvard
Suruchi Patankar
BA/MD
1989
Medical School-BU
Ben Urmaza
BA Biology
1990
Medical School-NYU
Mary Caggiano (Hatton)
BA/BS-Bio Edu
1991
Graduate School-BU/Education
Sanjay Patel 
BA Biology
1991
Sharon Smith
BA Biology
1993
Medical School-BU
Joyce Su
BA Biology
1993
Graduate School-BU-PubHealth Tech-Boston Sci joycesu@yahoo.com
Andrew Chi
BA Biology
1994
MD/PhD-Chicago
Maria DiChiara
BA Biology
1994
Graduate School-Stanford
Sheri Procious
BA Biology
1995
Vet School-Tufts sheriprocious@hotmail.com
Kristen Lipstreuer
BA Biology
1996
Medical School-BU
Christine Foster
BA BMB
1996
Graduate School-Hopkins Scientist-NIH CFOSTER@niaid.nih.gov
Derek Pappas
BA BMB
1997
Graduate School-Yale
Janet Lau
BA/MA-Biotech
1995-96
Graduate School-UCSF jla9@itsa.ucsf.edu
Christine Ladislaw
BA/MA-Biotech
1997-98
Tech-Vertex ladislaw@vpharm.com
Dorothy (Deedee) Luken (Bird)
BA Biology
1999
Graduate School-Penn Medical School Surgical Resident-BUMed Dorothy.Bird@bmc.org
Rey Sequerra
BA BMB
1999
Medical School-Harvard
Tara Foran
BA Biology
2001
Graduate School-UCIrvine Genetic Counsler-Cedar Siani funari.2005@gmail.com
Michelle Cronin
BA Biology
2001
Graduate School-BU Postdoc-HarvardMed macronin@bu.edu
Amanda Bass
BA BMB
2001
MD/PhD-NWU
Vickie Lew (Lai)
BA-BME
2002
Tech-DanaFarber lai.vickie@gmail.com
Kristin Marshall
BA Biology
2003
Graduate School-Univ Wash. PhD Program-Colo. State kmarsh2@lamar.colostate.edu
Sohini Shah
BA/MD
2003
Medical School-BU
Miho Teruya
BA Biology
2003
Medical School-TexasTech Miho.Teruya@uth.tmc.edu
Artiom Gruzdev
BA/MA-Biotech
2003
Graduate School-UNC
Laura Yerkes
BA/MA-Biotech
2003
Grants Admin-HMS laurayerkes@gmail.com
Matt Ford
BA-Chem
2003
Graduate School-BC/Education
Donny Cramer
BA/MA-Math
2004
Insurance actuary remarc@gmail.com
Rebecca Turk
BA Biology
2005
Graduate School-Univ Colorado turk@colorado.edu
Siva Elangovan
BA BMB
2005
 
Tufik Assad
BA-Chem
2005
Medical School-Med College Georgia
Lex Pelger
BA BMB
2006
Tech-Columbia U
Michael R. Conti-Mica
BA BMB
2007
Georgetown Medical School mrc55@georgetown.edu
Jeff Nageotte
BA/MA-Biotech
2007
Tech-Monsanto jeff.nageotte@gmail.com
Elizabeth Brunyak
BA/MA-Biotech
2007
Tech-Genzyme Elizabeth.Brunyak@genzyme.com
Nikki Shakourian
BA Chemistry
2008
Dental School - Tufts nshak@bu.edu
Tiffany Zee
BA-BMB
2008
Grad School - Columbia tz2134@columbia.edu
Michael Coyle
BA-BMB
2008
Grad School - Berkeley/Chemistry coylem@berkeley.edu
Sarah Kampert
BA-BMB
2008
Grad School - Michigan
Jessica Lam
BA/MA-Biotech
2008
Tech-RXi Pharmaceuticals jlam.503@gmail.com
Anna Ma
BA/MA-Biotech
2009
Research Associate II-Curis Inc. awm@bu.edu
Rachel Gibbons
BA-BMB
2009
Grad School-Mayo Clinic gibbons1@bu.edu
Florencia Rago
BA/MA-Biotech
2010
Grad School - MIT
frago@bu.edu
Erin Doyle
BA-Biology
2010
Technician - Harvard Medical School
Nishita Shastri
BA-BMB
2010
Grad School - Penn
Eddy Connors
BA-BMB
2011
Grad School - Scripps
Katie Doonan
BS-Nutritional Sciences (SAR)
2011
Medical School - Univ. New England
Mamtha Raj
BA/MA-Biotech
2012
Medical School - Chicago
Katherine Hill
BA-BMB & BA-English
2012
Research Assist. Beth Israel Hospital-HMS
Andrew Lai
BA-BMB
2012
Boston University - School of Public Health
Abraham Benavides
BA-Biology
2014
-
Paige Coles
BA-Biology
2014
-
Stone Chen
BA/MA-BMB/Biotechnology
2015
-
Athena Cavounidis
BA-BMB
2015
-


Summer Students

Name    Summer of Visit
From
Joseph Melnikov HS student
1988
NY
Jason Chen HS student
1989
Mass
Chris Cowan HS student
1990
Utah
Yi-Qian You HS student
1992
Mass
Jessica Kobil HS student
1992
NY
Charles Huyi HS student
2007
Michigan
Lee Marcus  HS student
2008
TBD
Niti Shahi  HS Student
2009
California
Daniel Dylewsky  HS Student
2010
Wellesley
Timothy Chou  HS Student
2010
Fremont CA
Lauren Mandelbaum  HS Student: BU Academy
2010
BU Academy
Alice Berenson  HS Student
2011
Wellesley MA
Michael Snower  HS Student
2011
Detroit Michigan
Vivek Gorijala  HS Student
2012
Virginia
Shefali Sood  HS Student
2012
Detroit Michigan
Erica Ryu  HS Student
2013
Carlisle Massachusetts
Noah Stevens-Stein  HS Student
2013
Austin Texas
Elizabeth Hardwick HS Student
2014
Sudbury Massachusetts
Ellie & Victor
Victor Lee HS Student
2014
Castro Valley California
Linda McIntosh HS teacher
1995
Mass
Irene Weider HS teacher
1996
Mass
John Mika HS teacher
1996
Mass
Leslie Lichtenstein HS teacher
1997
Mass
Winnie Ikabara HS teacher
1997
Mass
Eric Yecies Undergraduate
1999
Penn
Daniel Jarosz Undergraduate
2000
MIT
Bryan Kaehr Undergraduate REU Student
2001
Univ NM
Dan Freeman Undergraduate NIH-REU Student
2002
BU
Konstantin Voevodski Undergraduate NIH-REU Student
2004
BU
Amanda Brownstone  Undergraduate PROSTARS Student
2008
Boston University
Taliesin Lenhart  Undergraduate PROSTARS Student
2009
Bunker Hill CC
Marilyn McCorn St. Fleur  Undergraduate SURF Student
2006
Tufts
Michelle Garcia  Undergraduate SURF Student
2007
University of San Francisco
Angelica Perez  Undergraduate SURF Student
2009
Puerto Rico
Lauren Hardwick  Undergraduate SURF Student
2010
Emory Univ
Lara Kabbani  Undergraduate PROSTARS Student
2010
Northeastern Univ
Kiara Blue  Undergraduate PROSTARS Student
2011
Bunker Hill CC/Northeastern Univ
Daniella Gotschin Undergraduate SURF Student
2013
Norfolk State University Virginia
Paul Reilly Undergraduate NSF-REU Student
2014
Temple University
Sara Baldwin  Bioinformatics IGERT Graduate Student
2008
Bioinformatics-BU
Sara Garamszegi  Bioinformatics IGERT Graduate Student
2009
Bioinformatics-BU
Evan Appleton  Bioinformatics IGERT Graduate Student
2010
Bioinformatics-BU
Yozen Hernandez  Bioinformatics IGERT Graduate Student
2011
Bioinformatics-BU
JD Hogan Bioinformatics IGERT Graduate Student
2012
Bioinformatics-BU

back to top