Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics

A listing of faculty with appointments in Pharmacology and faculty participants in the Biomolecular Pharmacology Program and their research interests follows.

Visit the faculty site for links to a more detailed description of research interests, a list of representative publications and a picture, where available.

  • David H. Farb, PhD
    Professor and Chair of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Pharmacological treatments for mental disorders of learning and memory
    dfarb@bu.edu
  • Carmela Abraham, PhD
    Professor of Biochemistry
    Mechanisms of normal brain aging and the etiology of Alzheimer’s disease
    cabraham@bu.edu
  • Karen N. Allen, PhD
    Professor of Chemistry
    Protein structure, function, and ligand design
    drkallen@bu.edu
  • Salomon Amar, DMD, PhD
    Professor of Periodontology & Oral Biology, Boston University Goldman School of Dental Medicine
    Control of TNF-α and other cytokine gene expression in inflammatory diseases; the role of infection in cardiovascular disease and obesity
    samar@bu.edu
  • David Atkinson, PhD
    Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
    Plasma lipoproteins: structure and biology
    atkinson@bu.edu
  • Irving J. Bigio, PhD
    Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Medicine, Physics
    Development of minimally-invasive diagnostics and therapeutics based on optical and photonic technologies
    bigio@bu.edu
  • J. Krzysztof Blusztajn, PhD
    Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Effects of perinatal availability of an essential nutrient, choline, on brain development and aging in experimental animals
    jbluszta@bu.edu
  • Victoria M. Bolotina, PhD
    Professor of Medicine and Physiology
    Ion channels and mechanisms of calcium signaling
    bolotina@bu.edu
  • Camron D. Bryant, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Psychiatry (pending)
    Genetic basis of substance dependence
    camron@bu.edu
  • Charles Cantor, PhD
    Professor of Biomedical Engineering Emeritus and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics (leave of absence), Chief Scientific Officer at Sequenom, Inc.
    Development of novel methods for detection and modulation of cells that express specific nucleic acid sequences
    ccantor@sequenom.com
  • Jiang-Fan Chen, MD, PhD
    Professor of Neurology and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Neurobiology of adenosine and the A2A adenosine receptor and the development and treatment of neuropsychiatric disorders
    chenjf@bu.edu
  • Dominic A. Ciraulo, MD
    Professor and Chair of Psychiatry
    Addiction psychopharmacology
    dciraulo@bu.edu
  • Richard A. Cohen, MD
    Professor of Medicine
    The biology and pathophysiology of nitric oxide (NO) in the setting of vascular disease
    racohen@bu.edu
  • Geoffrey M. Cooper, PhD
    Professor and Chair of Biology
    Proto-oncogenes and cell proliferation and survival
    gmcooper@bu.edu
  • Pietro Cottone, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Psychiatry
    Neurobiological substrates of motivated behaviors including feeding and addiction
    cottone@bu.edu
  • Gerald Denis, PhD
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Medicine, Cancer Research Center
    Effect of the novel transcriptional co-activator, Brd2 in hematological malignancies and obesity
    gdenis@bu.edu
  • Howard Eichenbaum, PhD
    Professor of Psychology and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics; Director, Center for Memory & Brain; Director, Cognitive Neurobiology Laboratory; Director, Center for Neuroscience
    Function of the hippocampus and the functional organization of the medial temporal lobe memory system
    hbe@bu.edu
  • Lindsay A. Farrer, PhD
    Chief, Genetics Program; Professor, Departments of Medicine, Neurology, and Genetics & Genomics, Boston University School of Medicine and Departments of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Boston University School of Public Health
    The genetic basis of complex diseases using genetic mapping methods for locating modifiers of gene expression
    farrer@bu.edu
  • Hui Feng, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Medicine
    Discovery of genes and pathways for initiation and progression of MYC-related cancers and identification of therapeutic interventions
    huifeng@bu.edu
  • Christopher V. Gabel, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Physiology & Biophysics and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Neural regeneration and function
    cvgabel@bu.edu
  • Terrell T. Gibbs, PhD
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Regulation of neurotransmitter receptor function
    tgibbs@bu.edu
  • Thomas D. Gilmore, PhD
    Professor of Biology
    Role of NF-kB transcription factors in human leukemia and lymphoma
    gilmore@bu.edu
  • Mark W. Grinstaff, PhD
    Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry and Ophthalmology
    Macromolecular chemistry and tissue engineering
    mgrin@bu.edu
  • James A. Hamilton, PhD
    Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
    Novel physical approaches to study obesity, metabolic syndrome, and cardiovascular disease
    jhamilt@bu.edu
  • Xue Han, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Discovering design principles for novel neuromodulation therapies
    xuehan@bu.edu
  • David A. Harris, MD, PhD
    Professor and Chair of Biochemistry
    Molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying human and animal prion diseases
    daharris@bu.edu
  • Michael Hasselmo, PhD
    Professor of Psychology
    Cortical dynamics of memory-guided behavior
    hasselmo@bu.edu
  • Alan Herbert, MBChB, PhD
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Neurology
    Whole genome scans to identify SNPs involved in obesity, addiction and neurological aging
    aherbert@bu.edu
  • Tsuneya Ikezu, MD, PhD
    Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Neurology; Director, Laboratory of Molecular NeuroTherapeutics
    Neuroimmunological modulation of synaptic activities, neurogenesis and cognitive function
    tikezu@bu.edu
  • Kathleen Kantak
    Professor of Psychology
    Translational research related to drug addiction, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and their co-morbidity
    kkantak@bu.edu
  • Gary B. Kaplan, MD
    Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Behavioral and the neural mechanisms of addiction
    Gary.Kaplan@va.gov
  • Catherine Klapperich, PhD
    Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Manufacturing Engineering
    Design and engineering of molecular diagnostics
    catherin@bu.edu
  • Conan Kornetsky, PhD
    Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Reward systems of the brain
    ckornets@bu.edu
  • Vidhya Kumaresan, PhD
    Research Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Neurobiological bases of addiction to psychostimulants
    vidhya@bu.edu
  • Susan E. Leeman, PhD
    Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Biology of Substance P (SP) and neurotensin
    sleeman@bu.edu
  • Adam Lerner, MD
    Professor of Medicine and Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Lymphoid malignancies and the role of focal-adhesion-associated proteins in breast cancer anti-estrogen resistance
    lernwara@bu.edu
  • Jen-Wei Lin, PhD
    Associate Professor of Biology
    Use of axons at the crayfish neuromuscular junction (NMJ) as a model system to study the excitability of axons
    jenweilin@bu.edu
  • Jennifer I. Luebke, PhD
    Associate Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology
    Electrophysiological and morphological properties of neocortical neurons in the rodent and primate prefrontal cortex across the lifespan
    jluebke@bu.edu
  • Hengye Man, MD, PhD
    Associate Professor of Biology
    Cellular/molecular mechanisms by which synaptic activity, and thus, neuronal communication is plastically regulated, specifically focusing on AMPA receptor (AMPAR) trafficking, localization and turnover
    hman@bu.edu
  • John A. Porco, Jr., PhD
    Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Stereocontrolled synthesis of complex molecule libraries for biological screening
    porco@chem.bu.edu
  • Tyrone M. Porter, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    Development of diagnostic and therapeutic ultrasound technology
    tmp@bu.edu
  • Wendy W. Qiu, MD, PhD
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Pathogenesis, risk factors, and behavioral manifestations of Alzheimer’s disease
    wqiu67@bu.edu
  • Katya Ravid, PhD
    Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry
    Genetic and signaling factors that control lineage commitment and the regulation of the cell cycle
    ravid@biochem.bumc.bu.edu
  • Douglas L. Rosene, PhD
    Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology
    Neurobiological basis of normal learning and memory and neurodegenerative diseases
    drosene@bu.edu
  • Neil Ruderman, MD, DPhil
    Professor of Medicine and Physiology & Biophysics
    Metabolic regulation and diabetes
    nrude@bu.edu
  • Shelley J. Russek, PhD
    Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Brain development and its response to injury or disease
    srussek@bu.edu
  • Valentina Sabino, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Psychiatry
    Neurobiology of addiction and stress-related disorders
    vsabino@bu.edu
  • Scott Schaus, PhD
    Associate Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Novel technologies to investigate cellular processes such as cell cycle regulation, cell proliferation, and intracellular signaling
    seschaus@chem.bu.edu
  • Anurag Singh, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Medicine
    Mechanisms of transformation and drug resistance in tumor cells
    asingh3@bu.edu
  • Jean-Jacques Soghomonian, PhD
    Associate Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology
    Functional neuroanatomy of the basal ganglia and the neurobiological basis of motor control, sensori-motor integration, and learning
    jjsogho@bu.edu
  • Thomas D. Tullius, PhD
    Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Chemical probe methods for determining the structure of DNA, RNA, and DNA-protein complexes in solution
    tullius@bu.edu
  • Richard Wainford, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Medicine
    Role of brain G-alpha subunit protein in central regulation of blood pressure
    rwainf@bu.edu
  • Carol T. Walsh, PhD
    Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Not conducting laboratory research
    ctwalsh@bu.edu
  • Kenneth Walsh, PhD
    Professor of Medicine and Director, Whitaker Cardiovascular Institute
    Signaling- and transcriptional-regulatory mechanisms that control both normal and pathological tissue growth in the cardiovascular system
    kxwalsh@bu.edu
  • David Waxman, PhD
    Professor of Biology and Medicine
    Regulation of liver P450 gene expression
    djw@bu.edu
  • Benjamin Wolozin, MD, PhD
    Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Neurology
    Pathophysiology of neurodegenerative diseases
    bwolozin@bu.edu
  • Joyce Y. Wong, PhD
    Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    Biocompatibility and control of cellular behavior at the cell-material interface for drug delivery and tissue engineering applications
    jywong@bu.edu
  • Zhigang Xie, PhD
    Assistant Professor, Departments of Neurosurgery and Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
    Neural stem and/or progenitor cells (NSPCs) in the treatment of brain injury and degeneration
    zhigang.xie@bmc.org
  • Muhammad Zaman, PhD
    Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    Interactions between tumor cells and their three-dimensional microenvironment
    zaman@bu.edu